Welcome to Cherokee District 

This site serves as an informational resource for Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturing Crews, their Scout Leaders, and the many other Scouting volunteers located in Western Jefferson County, Alabama. Our mission is to instill values in young people and prepare them to make ethical choices over their lifetime and to achieve their full potential. The Cherokee District strives daily to serve youth in the communities.
 The Cherokee District serves Bessemer, Brighton, Concord, Fairfield, Forestdale, Graysville, Hueytown, Maytown, McCalla, Minor, Mulga, Oak Grove, Pleasant Grove, Sylvan Springs and West Jefferson, among other area communities..
Unit List ) 

District Executive: David Self david.self@scouting.org
District Chairman: Charles King


District Commisioner: Cyndi LaFond jackets6912@yahoo.com
District Webmaster:  




  ---   NEWS!   --- 


From the Eagle's Nest:  Congratulations to our two newest Eagle Scouts!  William Green and Grant Robinson attained Scouting's highest rank early this summer.  Congratulations!

Advancement opportunity:  Vulcan District's "Advance-O-Rama" will take place on August 29th at Canterbury United Methodist Church in Mountain Brook.  This is a fantastic opportunity to make excellent progress on some of the more unusual merit badges.  For more information, go to: http://www.vulcandistrict.com/advance-o-rama/